Weight Loss Journey

James Moffitt
5 min readSep 7, 2024

This story is about my weight loss journey. I want to give you hope if you are struggling with weight loss.

Traveling back in time to 2016 I weighed 380 lbs. Today when I got on the scales I am down to 297. At first the voice in my head said “It is about time”. The voices in our head are always super critical right?

When I was at 380 I was miserable. I had no energy and walking down the street was a struggle. The first step in fixing a problem is admitting there is a problem. Ignoring the issues never helps. Men are notorious about not taking care of themselves and refusing to see a doctor. I was just like that. I did not want to admit I had a problem.

Not only was I obese but I had health related issues that were symptoms of obesity. I had hypertension and Type II diabetes. I finally went to see a primary care physician and told her about my high blood pressure. After several attempts to get my high blood pressure under control she referred me to a cardiologist. The cardiologist told me that I need to lose weight. Losing weight was going to be the key to better health.

After some trial and error the cardiologist found the right mixture of medicines that got my hypertension under control. Now I go to see him once every six months for a follow up.

I ignored Type II Diabetes for way too long. The problem with ignoring the symptoms is that it only gets progressively worse. You can lose your eye sight and body parts. Yes, I said that. You could lose your feet, hands or worse…

--

--

James Moffitt

Happily married for last 34 years to Katy Moffitt, living in Goose Creek South Carolina. I love writing, bowling, and nature.