Revenge of Your Digestive Tract

James Moffitt
3 min readSep 13, 2024

Roz Warren, Writing Coach

Brecks Steakhouse photo by author

I read Roz Warren’s poop story which was a series of several stories about poop. So, I was reminded of how true it is when you say “shit happens”. That is both literally and figuratively I might add.

Yes, poop does happen. If we are lucky it happens on a regular basis.

I remember last year at the tender age of 61 I had my first colonoscopy. Yes, that is right, I dreaded this event and even though I was supposed to have it done in my 50' s I procrastinated for as long as I could. Thanks to my primary care physician continually bringing this up I finally gave in and had it done.

The procedure itself was painless. They put you to sleep, you dream wonderful dreams and then they interrupt those dreams by waking you up. I remembered wondering if I would get sleepy and then the next thing I know I was awake wondering if they were ever going to do the procedure.

I will NEVER drink gatorade again. Dear baby jesus…. I mixed the powerder with 64 oz of gatorade and took the pills. I pooped for 5 hours. That is right. I sat on the throne and emptied my intestines until all that came out was nothing.

I am supposed to have another procedure at 65. BAH….

--

--

James Moffitt

Happily married for last 34 years to Katy Moffitt, living in Goose Creek South Carolina. I love writing, bowling, and nature.