Remembering 9/11/2001

James Moffitt
3 min readSep 11, 2024
Star Spangled Banner photo by author

This is a story memorializing my daughter Jessica who would have been 11 years old on 9/11/2001 and the 3000+ souls that lost their lives in the tragedy that played out in the World Trade Center towers on that fateful day.

9/11 has a dual meaning to my wife and I. Our 10 year old daughter would have been 11 on 9/11/2001 but due to childhood cancer passed away on August 5th of 2001. Every single time 9/11 rolls around we mourn the loss of Jessica and remember that horrible day when the trade centers were hit by airliners and came crashing to the ground.

I think it was around 9 am that day and my neighbor called me and told me to turn on the TV. We had cable tv at that time and I think every major news network was broadcasting the horrific events on that day. I believe that the first airliner had already hit the first tower and it was smoking and on fire. As the world watched a second airliner hit the second tower and burst into flames.

We all watched in horror as we witnessed human beings jumping from the towers in order to escape a firey death. I cannot imagine the terror that those people were experiencing as they plummeted to their eventual deaths.

As if that was not horrific enough then we watched the twin towers collapsed to ground zero and left clouds of dust and building debris as it exploded on the ground level.

--

--

James Moffitt

Happily married for last 34 years to Katy Moffitt, living in Goose Creek South Carolina. I love writing, bowling, and nature.