Marriage of Minds: The Squirrel Brain Union

James Moffitt
4 min readOct 5, 2024
AI generated photo

I believe that my wife and her Squirrel Brain has rubbed off on me.

Just last night I went to the refrigerator to get a bottle of cold water. I did this because I was almost out of water in my water bottle. I have a water bottle that I carry around with me day and night and I like to keep cold water in it no matter where I go.

I was sitting in my recliner last night when I looked up from my Microsoft Tablet and noticed the bottle of cold water on my table next to the recliner. My first thought was. I do not remember going to the refrigerator to get it. I looked over at Katy and asked her if she had gotten it for me. No, she said, you got it yourself a few moments ago. GAH !!!! I have Squirrel Brain.

I asked AI what having squirrel brain means and this is what Chatbot came up with.

Having “squirrel brain” usually means someone is easily distracted, jumping from one thought or task to another, much like a squirrel darting around. It’s a fun way to describe a scatterbrained or hyperactive mental state. Sound like anyone you know? 🐿️

Yes, this reminds me of my sweet wife Katybug. Katybug is 65 years young and every time she does something or says something that reminds me of being a squirrel brain I remind her of this.

--

--

James Moffitt

Happily married for last 34 years to Katy Moffitt, living in Goose Creek South Carolina. I love writing, bowling, and nature.