I Am A Pirate

James Moffitt
2 min readSep 26, 2024
Selfie with my swollen eye

I am a pirate

That is right. Look at that photo and you will see that my left eye is almost swollen shut.

It started out two days ago when I woke up and my eye was bothering me. Just some discomfort. I shrugged it off and thought, oh it will just pass, whatever it is. Famous last words.

Today I woke up and my eye was angry with me.

Instead of going to the doctor I decided that I would suck it up butter cup and go to work. I made it through my work day up until about 1 pm and I had to come home.

Have you tried to do anything with one eye swollen shut?

If we had health insurance I could have visited the doctor so they could tell me what I already know. I have a stye. I honestly do not remember the last one I have had. It has been a very long time.

One of my work friends who is a nurse told me to put some sea salt in a cup with water and heat it up in the microwave. Put a paper towel in it and put that on your eye. That will make it better.

I tried that to no avail. When I got home I googled stye treatments. Amazon had several eye drops and ointments claiming to be the cure. So, I drug myself out of my recliner, got into the car and drove through the rain to CVS to get some Stye ointment. The pharmacist said my doctor is probably going to have…

--

--

James Moffitt

Happily married for last 34 years to Katy Moffitt, living in Goose Creek South Carolina. I love writing, bowling, and nature.